India becomes 43rd member of Australia Group

Issue: 1 / 2018

India, on January 19, was formally inducted as the 43rd member of the Australia Group (AG), a voluntary group of countries working to stop the spread of chemical and biological weapons. After becoming member of Wassenaar Arrangement (2017) and Missile Technology Control Regime (2016), this is India’s third consecutive victory in entering into the exclusive weapons control club. Nuclear Supply Group (NSG) is the only non-proliferation regime that India is yet to become a member. China has been stone walling Indian efforts to enter it.